15. The sittings are annual, but may be oftener. Senators are appointed by the Governor General under the Great Seal, upon the recommendation of his Council. They hold office, under certain prescribed conditions, for life, and must be of the full age of thirty years, and have real and personal property worth \$4,000, over and above all liabilities.

The Senators from the province of Quebec must reside in the electoral divisions for which they are appointed, or have their property qualifications therein; in the case of other provinces, Senators are only required to reside and have their property qualifications within the provincial limits. They must be natural-born subjects of Her Majesty or become naturalized.

During the session of Parliament the Senate holds a daily session, unless it is otherwise ordered.

The Senate is presided over by a Speaker, who must be a Senator. He is appointed by the Governor in Council by commission under the Great Seal. Fifteen members, including the Speaker, constitute a quorum. Questions are always decided by a majority of votes, the Speaker always having a vote, and when the voices are equal, the decision is deemed to be in the negative.

Every Senator and every member of the House of Commons and of the Provincial Legislatures must take the oath of allegiance before taking his seat. No Senator can hold a seat in the House of Commons, nor can he sit in any Legislature of the several provinces, excepting in the case of the Legislative Council of Quebec.

Bills can originate in the Senate, excepting revenue or money Bills, in which cases the action of the Senate is confined by usage to their rejection, a rejection justified only by extraordinary circumstances.

The Senate as at present constituted consists of eighty-one members, twenty-four each from Ontario and Quebec, ten each from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, four each from Prince Edward Island and Manitoba, three from British Columbia, and two from the North-west Territories.

16. The House of Commons, which is elected by the people for a term of five years, enjoys both legislative and executive functions, since through a committee of its own it governs the country. At the present time it consists of 215 members. This number is fixed under the provisions of the Act of Confederation, and the representation is rearranged after every decennial census by Act of Parliament, the basis being that Quebec is always to have sixty-five representatives, and each of the other provinces such a number as will give the same proportion of representatives